top of page

What Happens to Your Body When You Quit Drinking Alcohol Timeline


*See the video for this post on my YT channel here.*

Alcohol is often shown to be a relaxing beverage, something that helps take the "edge off the daily grind." People celebrate with it, drink it when they're sad or lonely, have it with dinner, lunches or brunch. Some people think that having alcohol in moderation is good for them, even though we now know, this is proved to be false.

We also now know that even in moderation, alcohol is not risk-free, especially considering how much a person drinks over time. I think it's fair to say anyone who has drank alcohol can remember a night (or several) when they drank more than they intended to. On top of that, an alcohol tolerance builds over time and that makes the person who is consuming alcohol more likely to drink more than they did before.

"Even moderate drinking carries some risks. Alcohol can disrupt sleep and one’s better judgment. Alcohol interacts in potentially dangerous ways with a variety of medications, including acetaminophen, antidepressants, anticonvulsants, painkillers, and sedatives. It is also addictive, especially for people with a family history of alcoholism."

Sometimes alcohol is looked at as the only way to have fun or even, a great conversation. Author Annie Grace disagrees. Annie stresses in her book, This Naked Mind that it's not the alcohol people need to have a great time, but that it is spending time with people you love spending time with that makes the evening (occasion) everything.

When I quit drinking alcohol (again), I found that looking at these timetables motivated me to quit. Being able to see and learn about what happens in the human body when you've cut out alcohol really has proved to be helpful.

Truly... “knowledge is power.”

Here's what happens when you decide to stop drinking alcohol:

1 Hour: Detox

In the first hour of not drinking, your body (liver) is already working overtime to flush out alcohol – clearing alcohol from your blood stream to prevent alcohol poisoning.

24 Hours

After twenty four hours of ditching booze, cravings will hit a high. This is because your pancreas starts producing more insulin which causes these carb cravings. Instead of eating something greasy and heavy in carbs, opt for something healthy. This will also help you feel better, sooner.

42 Hours

The worst is over with. You might still feel tired, worn-out, and groggy and depending on how much you drank, you might even have sweats, feel dizzy, have headaches, and be agitated. If you need help, reach out.

72 Hours

This is when you'll feel like your old self. Back to normal and at your best.

1 Week

I've noticed in the first week of being sober, my sleep improved and my skin began to clear up. Redness in my face wasn't as noticeable as before, spots/pimples seem to go away and stay away, and my skin gained a dewy-er look.

I felt much better physically, mentally, emotionally, and noticed my anxiety wasn't nearly as bad as it was when I had been drinking alcohol. This is also the point where in the past, I've wanted to start drinking again because I was feeling better. Now looking back, how silly is that?

1 Month

Your energy increases and you'll notice a reduction in belly fat. Did you know? "Your liver fat reduces by 15%, increasing its ability to filter toxins out of the body."

1 Year

A year of sobriety - I'm just going to list the benefits - there are many!

- If you've tracked how much you used to spend on alcohol, check out how much you've saved all year.

- Weight loss

- Clearer skin

- More time: if you've picked up a hobby while staying sober, I bet you've become pretty great at it.

- Better relationships

- Increased productivity & focus.

- Reduced risk of cancer

- Other health risks are reduced

- Able to absorb vitamins and minerals better then before.

- Quicker immune response

When I made the decision to quit alcohol, some of these points ran through my mind and well as reminding myself how much better I feel when I don't drink alcohol. I've never felt comfortable having a "buzz". I find that I have a much better outlook on life when I'm sober. I enjoy people and experiences more when I'm sober.

I think for a long time, I lied to myself about alcohol, thinking it was adding to my life when really, it robbed me of so much.

-Sarah

Other Posts You Might  Like

Recent Posts

bottom of page