top of page

Dealing With Anxiety


*See this post on my YT channel here.*

*Listen to this post on my podcast with more tips here.*

Handling anxiety can feel crushing. From a few moments of overwhelming anxiety, to full-blown panic attacks, I now know better ways of handling anxiety when I feel it coming on.

I've also recorded a podcast episode where I talk more in-depth about how I manage my anxiety and things that have personally helped me and filmed a YT video as well. See the links above.

I'll start with the advice no one wants to hear - maybe it's best to get it over with first? (lol).

1. Let Yourself Feel It All

This sounds terrifying but it works. If you're in a place where you can do this, ideally, alone at home, or able to get somewhere where you'll be alone for a few minutes - let yourself feel your anxiety, instead of ignoring it. I find that when I let myself feel my anxieties, they those feelings tend to go away rather quickly.

I think it's important to remind yourself that you are not your thoughts. You are also not your feelings. Sometimes a feeling will creep in and it's as if that's all that you feel. But that feeling isn't you.

2. Pause Everything & Reflect

(MENTION TOOLS YOU CAN USE - THIS IS WHERE YOU'LL ALSO TALK ABOUT THE CBD PRODUCTS!)

Reflect on why you might be feeling the way you are. I find that journaling or talking to someone very helpful. Talking with someone helps put things in perspective and helps to figure out solutions to any problems you might have. Journaling, and especially, free writing is great for getting any lingering thoughts out of your head. I think of it as a de-clutter almost. But with journaling, it's also key for writing down what you're feeling, why, and also puts things into perspective as well.

Often when I'm journaling and something is on my mind, letting myself write a few paragraphs on what's bothering me, maybe a list of things I know I need to get done, or writing a letter (even if it's something I'll never send) helps me see things a little clearer or a least create a call-to-action.

3. Stick With a Schedule

Doing a few things consistently has greatly improved my anxiety. Working out, having a sleep schedule, practicing meditating, talking with a therapist each week, eliminating alcohol from my diet are a few things that really work with me. I know not everyone who has trouble with anxiety and likes to drink alcohol will give up alcohol. To those people, I dare them to try it just for a few days and notice any changes. Guaranteed, anxiety will decrease.

On my podcast, I go in more-depth and talk about things that have helped me handle my anxiety. Click here to listen and don't forget to give my podcast a rating!

-Sarah

Other Posts You Might  Like

Recent Posts

bottom of page