top of page

Grounding Techniques for Dissociation



*See this post in video format over on my YT channel here*

I want to go over some grounding techniques for if you're someone who experiences dissociating.

But first, I want to go over what dissociating is, what it feels like, and what causes dissociating.

In psychiatry, dissociating is the “splitting off of a group of mental processes from the main body of consciousness, as in amnesia or certain form of hysteria” and according to Mental Health America, it is “a mental process that causes a lack of connection in a person's thoughts, memory, and sense of identity.”

What does dissociating feel like?

Speaking from personal experience, when I've realized I've dissociated, it's usually when I've talked with my therapist about traumatic events from my past. I've done this when I've talked with her about my experience of childhood sexual abuse. I'm talking to her about a specific memory and at some point as I'm talking to her, she's caught me having this glazed-over, spaced out look on my face and she'll ask how I'm feeling. My response is usually, “it's like I'm not even here right now”.

To me, when this happens, there's a lot of sensations I'm noticing. From feeling lightheaded and dizzy, to feeling as if I'm not even in my own body, it's as if I'm floating around the room. Sometimes it's as if there's this fog that creeps in and I start to feel a sense of doom or gloom in the room that I'm in. I've also felt completely drained and exhausted. Other people who have experienced dissociating, say they feel that their mind is going blank, maybe daydreaming, getting the sense that the world around them is not real, even disconnecting from surroundings. I can relate to all of these types of experiences.

Why do people do this?

“Dissociation as avoidance coping usually happens because of a traumatic event. Being powerless to do anything to change or stop a traumatic event may lead people to disconnect from the situation to cope with feelings of helplessness, fear, or pain. Dissociation can help people get through to the end of the traumatic experience. People who dissociate during trauma are more likely to develop a pattern of dissociating as a coping strategy.” (University of Washington).

Licensed therapist and YouTuber, Kati Morton has said “because of that psychological stress and trauma that's happening, our mind is quite clever to be honest. Our minds want to protect us, they want to keep us safe.” (See her video here).

What can you do when you've noticed this is happening to you, or maybe you're getting the sense that dissociating is starting to creep in?

What you want to do, is use your senses to bring you back to the here and now.

To start, try taking a few deep breaths. That's the first thing I like to do and then place your feet on the floor. I also like to move or shift my feet on the floor a little, you could also tap your feet on the floor if you want to. Maybe there's something in front of you you can touch like a table or your desk or the chair you're sitting in. If you happen to be outside maybe you can describe what you feel; the breeze, the sunlight on your skin, you can also describe what you're seeing, trees, houses. If you're wearing cologne or perfume you can notice that too, you can notice that scent. If you happen to have a mint or gum with you, munch on that. Notice where in fact you are, what are you doing in this moment? If you are talking with a therapist, they'll make a direct observation about the state of dissociating.

I've noticed my personal experience with dissociating has lessened over time. I think this is because I've consistently talked with a therapist, I also like to practice mindfulness meditations and on days when I've felt horrible about myself for dissociating (which is not worth your time, please have self-compassion for yourself if you find yourself dissociating). It doesn't mean you're crazy or anything, it's just the way the mind can deal with trauma, so you shouldn't beat yourself up about that.) Anyway, when I have beaten myself up in the past for dissociating, I've done these grounding techniques and then a loving kindness meditation (the first time I tried one of these, it was with this app) and this seems to help.

I hope you guys found this helpful.

-Sarah

Other Posts You Might  Like

Recent Posts

bottom of page