top of page

Why I Don't Pray


*See this post in video format here.

*Listen to this post on my podcast here.


Someone recently said to me, “you know how to pray, you remember, you do.”

My response was, “Uh actually no, I mean, I don't pray”

Why not?

Let's look at the word prayer:

A devout petition to a god or an object of worship.

Could also be supplication, thanksgiving, adoration or confession.

  1. I don't find this idea isn't very appealing. Seems kind of silly.

2. I have nothing to pray to. I'm not convinced a god exists. Quite frankly all gods and deities sound a bit ridiculous to me and I don't buy it.

I do believe in separation of church and state, and everyone's right to practice their religion basically however they want. People have the right to practice their religious beliefs privately as long as it does not harm others.

I have the right/choice to carry out my personal beliefs (or, lack of) any way I want *too.

This includes the choice of opting out of prayer.

Some people like to pray to the universe... I don't do that either. I think people find comfort in thinking there's someone or something out there to hear their prayers. I think it's an especially comforting idea if you're lonely or you're going through a difficult time. People like the idea idea of having someone see the injustices that happen to them. Some mystical being watching it all unfold and listening to cries for help. But it's also a very selfish idea. Thinking that the entirety of the universe somehow cares about you finding a good parking spot... sounds a bit narcissistic.

Why not actually just get help? *Therapy, medicine, police, friends, family, etc.

I find comfort in talking with family and friends. Calling my mom on the phone, seeing what she's up to or whoever it is. Instead of praying alone, talking to no one but myself... I'd rather connect with a human being over an imaginary friend.

I remember when I did use to pray and nothing happened. Ever. I'd just ramble on and on, praying in silence to a deity or god who never responded. Just talking to the ceiling, don't mind me!

When you look at the universe, it's seems ludicrous to me to think, without any evidence, that something, anything would be listening to anyone on this tiny planet spinning throughout it.

There's no proof of an almighty creator, so why pray to one? How many prayers a day? Which god? All of them? Why do all religious people think their god is the only, true correct one and all the others aren't? Any religious person will say they're right and everyone else is wrong.

I was raised in church and the thought of someone always watching me was the creepiest idea ever. If a god is always watching... is that all he does? Is that all he's good for? *image of a creepy stalker

Watching the dailies of harm and destruction in the world happen – like a never-ending marathon of news reels go on and on, meanwhile, he's just kicked back enjoying it all.

Seems a bit sadistic if you ask me. Never stepping in to help, Just watching all the doom and gloom, like he's relishing it.

If there were a god, he's obviously not omnipotent - all powerful, all knowing, and good - I call bullshit.

A quote comes to mind from Tracie Harris: “If I could stop a person from raping a child, I would. That's the difference between me and your god.”


Even if a god were true or real, why the hell would I want to pray to him?

Some religious people will say in situations that they prayed and god heard their prayers and so this person was healed – it's a miracle! Or the opposite, we prayed but I guess, it was just god's will for them to die... he works in mysterious ways... now they are at home in heaven...

*WTF?

I don't pray, to anyone, to anything. I find it a waste of time. I'd rather be doing something. I'll leave you with a quote from Christopher Hitchens:

“The man who prays is the one who thinks that god has arranged matters all wrong, but who also thinks that he can instruct god how to put them right.”

Side nite: When people tell me they're praying for me, I just think of it as they're thinking of me.

What are your thoughts?

-Sarah

Other Posts You Might  Like

Recent Posts

bottom of page